Independence Day


It’s another one of those gorgeous Northeast Ohio midsummer days. Yesterday was really muggy, but today the humidity is gone. This sounds corny, but I really do appreciate this weather more because we don’t have it all the time. Against cold winter and dreary spring, these lovely summer days stand out in glorious relief (double entendre intended).
Joe and I are going to a cookout tonight at our friends’ house so I decided to make my favorite cake, Smitten Kitchen’s strawberry summer cake, to take and share. 

I told Joe that stone fruit and berries work best, and he came home from the West Side Market with peaches and blueberries. Well played, Joe, well played.

I really like the way it looked like a sunflower before it went in the oven. This was unintentional. 

While waiting for the cake, I worked on these Simple Skyp Socks. I have a terrible habit of leaving projects at an awkward state of completion, like six rows from finishing the toe of a sock. Awkward, because Kitchener stitch isn’t ideal to work when and where you can’t give it your full attention. But while you have a cake in the oven is the perfect time to get over those knitting speed bumps to a point where you can cruise along again.


Can I give you my grandma’s iced coffee recipe? Ready? 

  1. Put ice cubes in a glass.
  2. Pour room temperature leftover coffee from the percolator over the ice.
  3. Serve with Parliament cigarettes, if desired.

I have had plenty of fancy, hipster iced coffees made with toddy or whatever, but not a single one tastes better to me than Grandma Libby’s recipe. I skip the Parliaments these days, but they would add kind of a Mad Men flavor. And of course, I have a Mr. Coffee type drip machine and not a cool looking percolator, but it still totally works. Just in case you want to try it.


Maybe I set the timer for too short a time, but I had to keep going back to the oven to check this for doneness. I think we’re good now, though. Fingers crossed!

Listening: Perfect Paul Simon playlist on Apple Music

Leave a Reply

