Back to the Blog

It’s been  months, but I can’t bring myself to say goodbye to blogging.  If anything, I really want to get back to it.  There are a number of things that prevent me from doing so.  The first, of course, is time.  I have a job doing electronic document review, which means that I spend my day reading emails on a monitor.  So, naturally, coming home and getting online isn’t the most appealing idea in the world.  But I really miss the community and the writing.

Another (self-created) obstacle are the related ideas that (1) all blog posts need pretty pictures and (2) I am completely incapable of taking the pretty pictures.  I have what can charitably be described as a craptastic camera, no tripod, and highly limited skill.  I love the blogs with beautiful photography (some examples: Brooklyn Tweedjust marysePosie Gets Cozy, Hello Yarn, and Smitten Kitchen), and I want to create the type of blog I like to read!

But I’m going to try to overcome these obstacles, because I so enjoy blogging as a personal journalling exercise.  And I have so many things I’d like to write about.

Like knitting, of course!  I’ve been working on a number of things, and recently finished this Breckenridge Cowl with Malabrigo Rasta.  What a yummy yarn!  I also have two sweater-type projects on the needles (three, if you count a long-hibernating bottom-up seamless yoke sweater).  Just when I think I’ve embraced the fact that I am really a Small Project Knitter, I go and start a sweater.

Other topics to come: local food, Health Month, potholder mania, my love affair with leafy greens, other people’s UFOs, and more.

5 Responses to Back to the Blog

  1. Laura! I am so happy to see you blogging again. I feel the same way about the pictures and stuff, but I’m going to get over that too and start blogging again. I just went out for a long walk and I feel great. I think this year will bring good things for us all.

  2. Leslie says:

    Yay! You’re back. Looking forward to finding out what’s on your mind (I know what you have been reading from Good Reads). A photo is a plus but it truly is your thought that counts.

  3. Happy to see you back! I’ve been checking in periodically, hoping you’d come back. 🙂

  4. sula says:

    I’m with you there. If it makes you feel any better, I enjoy browsing blogs like those you mentioned, but the ones that I stick with are the ones that have bits of real people inside them. I can see a million projects anywhere, but I like real people. I tend to easily lose interest in blogs that feel like they are written for mass consumption instead of a personal connection. What a relief I’ve never had to face that hurdle, ha ha!

  5. knittymama says:

    I hear you on the photography issue. I struggle with it as well and am hoping that maybe I can finally get a decent camera and learn ow to use it one of these days!

    The photo of your cowl turned out lovely!

Leave a Reply

