March Spawned a Monster

… a crochet monster.  This month has completely gotten away from me, and my excuse is birthday madness combined with crochet crazies.

Modern Vintage Potholders, pattern by the redoubtable Maryse

First, there was the Potholder Swap.  I finished those and mailed them off.  I sort of thought after making ten identical double crochet circles with Tahki Cotton Classic and a D hook, I’d be over it.

Um, NO.

When I grow up, I will be a giant granny square.

Today, I felt what could only be called true compulsion to start a giant granny square blanket.  It will be composed of all my 100% wool scraps, partial balls, and orphan skeins, rounded out with some Patons Classic Wool I bought for no reason other than it was on sale at the Big Box Craft Store.

So far, I’ve done 15 rounds and it’s about 16 inches square.  And I am kind of in love with it.

6 Responses to March Spawned a Monster

  1. I did a giant granny square with ten skeins of Noro Iro and a whole sweater’s worth of some dark wool. And then I started another one for my king sized bed out of leftovers. When I finished that one, I started a third, but managed to wrench myself away to return to knitting. They’re pretty addictive.

  2. Mary says:

    I’ve been planning a lap-blanket-sized one with my sock leftovers and started swatching during last week’s LOST episode. But maybe I need a granny-rectangle instead…

  3. Sarah says:

    I just love the colors… so so so pretty! You are one talented lass!

  4. sulafaye says:

    With good reason, it’s beautiful. Love your colors, isn’t it nice when you are consistent enough that your scraps look good together?

  5. Jodi says:

    The crochet monster is one of my favorite monsters!! I love your giant granny — I’ve been so enjoying curling up in mine.

    I’m so impressed by your potholders. Such a neat swap idea!

  6. Courtney says:

    Gorgeous! I have been wanting to make a giant Afghan out of scraps for awhile. Also loved the rug in One Skein.
    You go girl!

Leave a Reply

