How Knitting Saved My Life. Again.

When my son was first diagnosed with autism, I spent approximately one year knitting only garter stitch.  Not because I didn’t know how to knit anything else, but because I didn’t have the mental energy for anything more complicated.  It was soothing, and eventually I moved on to bigger things.  Like purl stitches.

When I was a stay-at-home mom, and I was struggling with isolation and depression and a bad marriage, knitting came to the rescue again.  I found knitblogs, and I felt less alone.  I became a much better knitter.  Finishing colorwork mittens and seamless sweaters both distracted me and gave me a little confidence, which I sorely needed.  I found a knitting group and I made some friends.

Now I’m entering my sixth month of being (mostly) unemployed.  All that time I’ve spent knitting over the last ten years continues to pay off.  I have a part-time job at a fantastic LYS, where I am teaching and talking to knitters and inhaling wool fumes for several hours a week.  I didn’t realize how much working had contributed to my General Sense of Self-Worth until I lost my job.  Being able to go to the store and be useful and help people through their yarny muddles gives me a nice feeling of competence.  Plus, new knitting friends!

I’ve seen some low moments in the last few months.  But  I understand that as problems go, mine aren’t that bad.  And I really do wake up many mornings and think, “This is a good day.  I can still knit.

And I still have Malabrigo in my stash.

10 Responses to How Knitting Saved My Life. Again.

  1. carla says:

    Knitting has saved my butt a few times as well. I’m starting to think it should be the first thing I turn to when I start to get into a slump.

    Best wishes.

  2. Molly Wieser says:

    My thoughts are with you and your family. I added your blog to my reader in some part because I’m a former Clevelander, a mom, and an attorney by training doing other things for a living. I’m feeling for you. Say the word if you are selling any knitting – or patterns?

  3. sulafaye says:

    You never cease to inspire. I think you have a knack for profundity (if being profound can be called a knack!). Thanks for your post–I’m rooting for you!

  4. Sourire11 says:

    I didn’t know you were working there! I’m def. going to have to stop up and say hi since that’s right around the corner from me!

  5. Heather says:

    Knitting is much more than sticks & string – glad it has pulled you through the darker times.

  6. Barb says:

    Aah, yes and there is malabrigo and you get to work around yarn…!

  7. DebbieQ says:

    Knitting is a life saver at times…. or marriage saver…..or child saver.

  8. Knitting, red wine, and dark chocolate are great therapy.

    Where can we find the pattern for that scarf in your last photo? Great design!

  9. lindy says:

    Love your pics! That scarf is gorgeous! Sorry I didn’t get to talk to you when I was in the shop last time. You were busy with a customer and I was in a bit of a rush.
    So glad to see a post from you. Knitting AND blogging can be therapy 🙂

  10. Marin says:

    Beautiful all the way around – the photos, the words, the all.

Leave a Reply

