Stiff Upper Lip, and All That

Keep Calm and Carry OnThis poster’s (and t-shirt’s, and coffee mug’s, and lunchbox’s, etc., etc.) message has become pretty cliched, I guess.  But I still like it. 

Wartime Britain has figured largely in my summer.  I have been enjoying the “Make Do and Mend” series on Cast On, for starters.  It’s been my favorite series yet.  London during the Blitz is the setting for a mystery novel I’m reading — Full Dark House by Christopher Fowler.  And the occupied Channel Islands are the setting for the book I just finished and really adored, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

Funnily enough, I’ve now the occasion to be inspired and guided by this dedication to thrift and ingenuity and pluck and whatnot.  A couple of weeks ago, I learned that I’ll be out of a job at the end of the month.  The capital markets are still in a crisis, and now is definitely not the time to sell your company.  Which means that there is precious little need in my small investment banking firm for this associate. 

So I’m trying to Keep Calm, Etc., with varying degrees of success.  But I have very supportive parents and family and very dear friends who are helping me.  Over the next few months, I’ll be moving, and hopefully finding a new and better job.  And in the meantime, I’ll have plenty of time to document the whole process.

Carry on!

8 Responses to Stiff Upper Lip, and All That

  1. Melinda says:

    Oh Laura, I’m sorry to hear that. That really sucks. You will be in my thoughts.

  2. Melissa says:

    Ugh, I’m really sorry to hear this. I’ll send good job vibes your way!!

  3. mintyfresh says:

    Oh gosh, Laura, that is such a blow! I love your attitude though. You’ll make it work!

  4. Sonya says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your job. I’ll be sending good job vibes your way too. I’ve really enjoyed this Cast On series too.

  5. kris says:

    oh no! i’m so sorry to hear about your job, laura. good luck with everything! hugs from norway!

  6. linda says:

    It’s been such a rough time for so many. I’m sorry about the job loss, but happy to see you blogging again!
    I picked my first few tomatoes yesterday~I’m surprised to have any ripe ones with this weather!
    Carry on!

  7. Sandee says:

    older post I know…just found your site….I loved The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, too. JUst loved it. I want to lend it to my mom…and now I can’t FIND where I put it. Under the pile of other books, and yarn and….fabric and..who knows.

    Enjoying your blog….. It is funny my mom just posted on her blog about carrying on…I will have to share this tshirt with her.

Leave a Reply

