I Understand the Fascination

Gloria Cowl, with New Glasses

Gloria Cowl, with New Glasses

Bringing you now another update from the Laura’s Always Late to the Party Department.

I now understand the collective fascination among the knitting cognoscenti with The Cowl.  It’s an easy, relaxing project, well-suited for TV watching, knitting group meetings, deep conversation, etc.   It is small, and therefore holds a high probability of being finished, and soon.  It provides excellent opportunities for stashbusting, as it requires very little yarn.  Alternately, the cowl project can serve as a justification for buying one skein of something spendy just because it’s beautiful, because it requires very little yarn.  Being so simple and quick, the cowl is like a sorbet to cleanse the palate between larger or more complicated projects.

And, in the case of this pattern, the cowl is an excellent alternative use for all that sock yarn one has accumulated.  I am always looking for projects that are not socks, but use around 400 yards of fingering weight.  Furthermore, I think it will be most useful, as I have already worn it several times after finishing it Friday morning.  Now I just need to decide which cowl pattern to knit next, with which of my stash yarns.

Pattern: The Gloria Cowl (Ravelry Link)

Yarn: Cider Moon Icicle in Pistachio, about two-thirds of one skein

Needles: Size 7 Knit Picks Harmony circulars (4.5mm)

7 Responses to I Understand the Fascination

  1. jessalu says:

    Very nice cowl! I love those colors, very pretty. :o)

  2. melissa says:

    very pretty! i love your new glasses. 🙂

  3. Heather says:

    Yay Laura! It looks fantastic, esp. with the new specs! I also find that the cowl is such a great garment at this time of the year.

  4. Kim says:

    Glad you joined the Cowl party. Your Gloria is lovely. I finished up the Sherbrooke cowl last night. Loved it. That’s always the question; which cowl pattern to knit next?

  5. maryse says:

    i just finished the gloria cowl as well! pretty colors.

  6. Sonya says:

    I was just looking at cowl patterns this morning so I could jump on the bandwagon! Cowls will be my theme for Christmas knitting this year. Love the colors you used and the new glasses.

  7. Meg says:

    Love the cowl, love the glasses. If it makes you feel better, I still haven’t made one of these!

Leave a Reply

