Late. Very, Very Late.

Lisa\'s ClapotisIf we were giving out prizes to the person who “completed” her holiday knitting last, I think I would win.

This Clapotis was intended for my sister, as a Christmas present. I finished it about a week ago, just in time for the weather to turn. My sister does live in St. Paul, Minnesota, so she may still get some use out of it before October. This, in fact, was part of the problem … knowing that her winters are so long made it feel as though I had all the time in the world.

The yarn is that pseudo-Noro stuff that you can buy at Jo-Ann craft stores. It’s not bad; a little over-twisted in places, a little under-spun in others. And it started to look a little fuzzy even before it was done. But it’s soft and was definitely improved by a bath.

Lace Tee

And now, I am obsessed with the thought of pretty spring and summer sweaters. I think I queued 100 of them on Ravelry. I started the Shaped Lace Tee from Knitting Lingerie Style and it’s moving along.  As an aside, the book is incredibly lovely, with patterns for actual garments, not just underwear.  I highly recommend.  And if, like me, the idea of knitting an underwire bra intrigues you, you really ought to run along and pick up a copy.

I’m using Cotton-Ease and, while it’s more pleasant than dishcloth cotton, it’s not the most comfortable yarn on the hands. I am determined, though, to perservere. My goal is to have this done before, say, autumn.

6 Responses to Late. Very, Very Late.

  1. Ashley says:

    Hey lady, new blog’s looking great! I love the banner.

  2. lynda says:

    Your sister’s Clapotis turned out beautifully – love the colors!

  3. Jessica says:

    Glad to see you’re posting again. The new blog looks wonderful.

  4. Nice striping action! I am thinking of doing another Clapotis very soon, it’s the perfect combo of mindless and fun;)

  5. Philippa says:

    I am still, vaguely, knitting a sweater for my sister’s birthday. The birthday two years ago. I gave her the swatch, a few bonbons and a card full of promises. But then, my parents gave me my 21st birthday present when I was twenty-four, and their present for my 22nd birthday was also a year ‘late’. There are definitely good things about receiving a present on a day that’s special for no other reason.

  6. Amy says:

    Can’t wait to see the lace top, it’s one of my favorite patterns from the book. And the clapotis looks great! Don’t worry–overzealous a/c-ers will probably give her more summer opportunities than you’d think.

Leave a Reply

