Slow Morning

This morning, the piano for John-John (a generous gift from my parents) is being delivered.  So — lucky me — I get a nice, unrushed start to the day.  That means I get to drink my coffee sitting down in my “knitting corner” instead of standing up in front of the bathroom sink.  I’ve taken a brief hiatus from the blanket to finish a top-down sweater I started a few weeks ago.  Spring’s coming … the birds in the yard (mostly cardinals and finches) are singing their breeding songs.  It’s nice to hear them again!

I also took the time to make the Best-Breakfast-that-Isn’t-a-Green-Smoothie.  Oatmeal is my new go-to morning meal, even when eating out.  At home, I add a spoonful of peanut butter and sliced bananas.  Reasonable people can disagree on this point, but I think PB and bananas together are heavenly.  My two most delicious discoveries of the year are avocados in smoothies (thanks, Lolly) and peanut butter in oatmeal (props to Ashley).

And, now, back to the sleeves on that sweater…

2 Responses to Slow Morning

  1. I eat oatmeal for breakfast every morning. It’s funny, because until a few years ago, I thought I hated oatmeal. It think I had only ever had the instant kind with the artificial flavors. Then one morning, my son asked for oatmeal, so I made him some with regular oats and milk and brown sugar, and I was hooked for life. I’m serious: it’s my favorite food. Not with peanut butter, though–with or without the bananas.

  2. Lolly says:

    I love my avocado smoothies! (and have you tried avocado chocolate mousse?? oh my!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

